La Clochette mining village at Douai and Waziers
The jewel in the crown of the Aniche Mining Company, the district of La Clochette majestically bears the architectural and urban signature. Take time to stroll through the streets of the mining villages of Notre-Dame and La Clochette, observe the details on the façades, the brick patterns and half-moon porches, all trademarks of the Aniche Mining Company. Common to both mining villages is the remarkable quality of the collective facilities testifying to the heyday of the paternalistic policies of the Company in the 1920s with its patronage and picturesque schools.
The highlight of the visit is Notre-Dame des Mineurs church, whose Art-Deco style and vaulted ceilings echo the structures of the mining tunnels. It was built between 1925 and 1927 by the architect Louis-Marie Cordonnier and was destined for the Polish community that had emigrated in droves during the inter-war period. Its originality lies in a subtle mix of neo-Roman and Art-Deco styles. Its rich decoration and interior furnishings are equally impressive, with elements of Art Deco and traditional Polish art. A real delight!